Hometown

6 months have passed since I came here Barcelona.

Sometimes I travel around in Spain.  I have traveled to Madrid, Valencia, Granada, Toledo, Salamanca and Valladolid… I didn’t realized at all that I have traveled to so many cities until my Spanish friends told me “Rumi, you know much more about Spain than me!”

Also, my friends from other cities in Spain came to Barcelona to visit me, and they also got to know how it is Barcelona like.

Whenever I go travel to other cities, I feel now Barcelona is already my hometown, as well as my real hometown in Japan, Nagoya.  I am always proud of my hometown. (In my opinion, people in Nagoya feel proud of their city and I’m also not an exception of them.)  Barcelona is not where I was born and even I have been living only for 6 months so far, but now I feel it’s my home.  I realize this feeling when I visit other city in Spain and walk around there.  I feel, “this city is so calmed and silent” or “this city is so clean and beautiful.”  But at the same time, I always feel, “it’s much less chaotic than Barcelona.”

Yes, Barcelona is a city of chaos : so many tourist, immigrants, different languages, colorful graffitis on the walls, independent parade, beggars, pickpockets, the beach, luxury restaurants, street-musicians… and me.  Some of my spanish friends came to Barcelona and not everyone liked it, because it’s “too much.”  It’s okay.  I don’t like Tokyo that much also because it’s “too much” for me.  However, Barcelona, I am doing okay here because maybe, I am a part of that “too much” elements.

As I mentioned in my last post, I am visiting some of my friends.  Their cities are all beautiful and very nice.  But as soon as I go back to Barcelona and breath in the air there, I am sure that I will feel it is my hometown for me now.

IMG_3118.JPG

*Thank you for reading!  Share, like and feel free to leave your comment!

2 comments

  1. Kahon · January 15

    Hi,This is Kahon
    It’s been a long time to contact you. How have you been?
    You seem to have been spending great time in Barcelona while studying,traveling and so on.
    I really understand your feeling since I also stayed another country for a year.
    Thank you for sharing an impressive story here.
    I could enjoy reading a lot^^
    Keep on going and take care of yourself!!
    See you soon~~~

    Like

    • hiitsmerumi · January 15

      Woooww, Kahon-chan?? Thank you for reading and comment! How are you? I am so happy to hear from you! 🙂
      Yes, I am doing great here, and I am happy to share this feeling with you 🙂 See you again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

