Dub-Sub Magic

I go to see a movie sometimes.  (Prices of theater in Spain is much cheaper than Japan, it’s like 5~8€, I like it!  Why we have to pay like 20€ in Japan, I don’t get it.)

When I see a movie and if it’s from English speaking country, I usually see in original voice in English and subtitled in Spanish.  “Rumi, you are in Spain for studying Spanish and why don’t you see it in Spanish dubbed?” you said probably.  I know that, thanks.  Well, I see it in English because I want to listen to the original voice of the actors, and of course, because it is easier for me to see in English.  (Let me simply relax and enjoy the movie please, that’s all my excuse haha.)  But you know what?  When I see a movie in English voice and Spanish subtitled, something interesting is happening in my head.

Let me explain it with an example of “Fantastic beasts and where to find them” in English original voice with Spanish subtitled.  (The movie itself was great btw!)  There was a scene like this:

【English voice】%e3%82%b9%e3%82%af%e3%83%aa%e3%83%bc%e3%83%b3%e3%82%b7%e3%83%a7%e3%83%83%e3%83%88-2017-01-19-12-31-31

【Spanish subtitle】 %e3%82%b9%e3%82%af%e3%83%aa%e3%83%bc%e3%83%b3%e3%82%b7%e3%83%a7%e3%83%83%e3%83%88-2017-01-19-12-31-10

Original video is here (you can choose subtitle in many languages):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yA7HyhOpC-k

In this scene, actually I couldn’t hear very well the English line “capable of”, but my eyes somehow caught the Spanish subtitles “capaz”, which means “capable”.  So I could solve it like this : I couldn’t hear the English word which means “capaz” but I see it in sub, so maybe the actor said something like “No human is capable of doing this.”

So, sometimes I don’t get details because of lack of information by hearing.  But if I catch sight of some Spanish words that I know in subtitle, I can understand the context.  That’s enough for me.  You don’t have to understand all of the lines, because you will know what is happening when the movie goes on.  (If an UFO appearers in a scene, you can guess maybe aliens are coming next, right?  Well done.)  What I do is, “picking” some words up from subtitle, not “reading” all of them.  And interesting thing is, while I do this trick I don’t know by which languages I am understanding the movie.  I just hear the voice and fill some “holes” by subs, and all of these informations will be united and come into my brain.  (Boooom)

This trick is also good when you see a movie which is dubbed in a language you are learning now, and subbed in a language which is easier for you.  (In my case, Spanish dub with English sub.)  I call this theory “Dub-Sub Magic.”  (This theory doesn’t work very well when you see with either sub/dub in your mother tongue.  Try to see it in sub/dub both in your second or third language!)  I hope this theory will help you improve your language skills a bit!

 

*Thank you for reading!  Share, like and feel free to leave your comment!

 

 

Leave a Reply

